Be in full control: From managing your Workspace to content viewing rights
In this article
Roles and Privileges: Introduction
In Showell, you can provide Roles and Privileges to all your users. This will determine what content they can view, or what sections of Showell they can manage.
To start, you can add users to specific groups. You then have the ability to grant Group privileges to each folder or sub-folder. This allows you to determine which groups are able to access and/or manage these folders.
Secondly, there are 3 types of Roles you can provide to all your users:
- Users with restricted Access to Showell Admin
Now how does it work in theory? In this article, we will explore the various Roles and Privileges and delve into their differences in more detail. So, keep reading!
Groups and their Privileges
You can divide all your Workspace users into Groups. This makes it easy to manage multiple users at the same time.
You have the ability to grant Group privileges to each folder or sub-folder. This allows you to determine which groups are able to access these folders.
Above all of this, you can choose to give 'read' or 'write' privileges to a groups privileges in a folder. This simply means 'Read/view only' or 'content can be managed by users with restricted Access to Showell Admin'
In a nutshell: You can organize users into groups, granting those groups permission to access specific folders.
If Group A, has 'read' Group privileges to folder A, the users of that group can view its contents. Keep in mind that 'Users with restricted Access to Showell Admin' can also only view the content.
If Group A has 'write' Group privileges to folder A, the users of that group can view its contents. Additionally, the 'Users with restricted Access to Showell Admin' can then add, remove or edit the contents of that folder in Showell Admin.
If Group A has no privileges to folder A, none of the group users can view that folder
Who are they?
A Showell user is simply everyone who is part of the Showell Workspace.
The users role is limited to viewing the contents within the Showell App. From here, they can find, present and share contents that are uploaded and provided by the Workspace administrators.
They do have the option, to upload their own materials to their personal My Files area.
Typically, most users are sales representatives, part of the service team or dealers.
Users can be managed by applying Group privileges. This means you can choose what contents a user is able to view, or not view at all, within the Showell App
Let's say we have a Company 'Endless Energy' with a user named 'Enzo'. Enzo and the rest of his sales team are part of the 'Sales Europe'-Group within Showell.
Now, Endless Energy has departments worldwide, and within their Workspace they set up their folder structure according to area: They have a Europe folder, USA folder and Asia folder.
By default, Enzo is able to view all the contents in the Showell App.
Now, to make sure that Enzo can only view contents relevant to him, you can make use of Folder Group privileges. This means that the folder Europe is provided with 'read privileges' for the Sales Europe Group, while in the USA and Asia folder, they have no privileges at all.
So when Enzo now opens the Showell App, he will only be able to view the Europe folder.
Users with restricted access to Showell Admin
Who are they?
The following features are therefore not available within Showell Admin: Analytics, User management, Integrations, Notifications, Main page (branding), Application resources, Trash and Workspace settings.
Typically, sales managers and/or product managers have restricted rights to Showell Admin
'Users with restricted access to Showell Admin' can be managed by applying Group privileges. This means you can choose what contents they are able to view, or not view at all, within the Showell App.
But you can take it a step further: When a folder has Group privileges set to 'write', this means that the 'users with restricted access to Showell Admin' can also manage that folder by adding, removing or editing contents.
Let's continue with our example from 'Users'.
Now, Enzo has proven himself in the company, and he gets promoted to Sales Manager. Obviously this comes with new responsibilities, so they make him a User with restricted access to Showell Admin, so he can then also manage the contents of the Europe folder.
In order for Enzo to be able to add, remove or edit contents, the group privileges for the Europe folder are changed to 'Write'. This means that he, but not the other users from his group (that do not have access to Showell Admin), is now able to make adjustments within the folder.
Within the Showell App, Enzo is still only able to view the Europe folder, as any other user.
Within Showell Admin, Enzo can now view and manage the contents of the Europe folder. Other contents are still unavailable for him, as he has no privileges to it.
Who are they?
Admins of a Showell Workspace have extensive capabilities. They have full access to all content in both the Showell App and Showell Admin. They can view, edit, upload, and remove content. Additionally, admins can manage and set roles and privileges for users and groups. They have access to detailed analytics and can send out notifications. Admins also have the ability to customize the Showell App and manage integrations and additional features.
Typically, Marketeers and/or head of sales have full Admin rights.
For Admins, using Showell Admin or the Showell App for Web, it does not really matter what group they are in, or if privileges are set to folders, since they are able to access and manage the entire Workspace. However, the only exception is with sharing folders: where you must be part of the group with privileges to that contents.
For Admins using the Showell Native Apps (Windows, Android and iOS), it is recommended to be part of the right groups to see and share the relevant contents. If you'd like to view all contents, you can for example set up an 'Admin'-Group, and provide that group with privileges in all folders.
Who are they?
When you upload content or create folders in Showell, you will automatically be designated as the owner of that content or folder.
In Showell Admin: as an Administrator, or as a "User with restricted Access to Showell Admin with Group Privileges set to Write", You are able to change the owner of a file or folder.
How do I get started with assigning Roles to Users?
Assigning different roles in Showell is a simple and easy process. We have a dedicated article that provides step-by-step guidance on how to accomplish this.
How do I Create Groups and assign Group privileges to folders?
To create groups and assign group privileges to folders, there are various methods you can use. The following two articles will provide you with step-by-step guidance on creating groups and setting group privileges for folders:
Add and Manage Groups: This article will walk you through the process of creating and managing groups in Showell. It will ensure that you are on the right track when it comes to organizing your users into groups.
Set Folder Privileges for Groups: This article will help you determine which groups can view or manage the contents of each folder.
Do 'Users with restricted access to Showell Admin' have any content managing right within the Showell App for Web?
On the Showell App for Web, there is only the distinction between Users and Admins. Therefore, if a user is provided with 'restricted access to Showell Admin', they can only manage the selected content from Showell Admin.