Managing groups and their privileges (permissions)

Fine tune what people in your organization can see on their Showell App by giving them group privileges. Then they can only see content relevant for them.

👍Advantages of using groups:

💡Note: You have to be an Admin to manage groups and their privileges/permissions.



➡️Settings up groups

➡️Applying group privileges to folders

Settings up groups

How to create a group

  • Navigate to the top menu bar
  • Click ADMIN -> Groups
  • Click ➕New group
  • Type the name of the group and click Done

How to add or remove users from a group using the group settings

  • Navigate to the top menu bar
  • Click ADMIN -> Groups
  • Select the group you want to add a user to
  • Next to the ➕icon, type the name of the user you want to add
  • Click on the correct name from the drop down menu
  • To remove the user: Select the user by checking it’s tick-box, and click ❌Remove on the bottom of the page

    How to add or remove users from a group using the user's settings

    • Navigate to the top menu bar
    • Click ADMIN -> Users
    • Select the user you would like to add to a group
    • On the right side of your screen in the section 'Members of groups', click Add user to group
    • Click the group from the drop down menu
    • To remove the user: Simply click the ❌ next to the group name

      Applying group privileges to folders

      How to give or remove group privileges from a folder

      • Navigate to the folder you would like to apply the permission to
      • go to the folder's ⚙️Settings
      • On the right you will find the 'Privileges' section
      • Click ➕Add group and choose the right group from the drop down menu
      • To remove a group privilege: Simply click the ❌ next to the group name

      Remember the folder hierarchy:

      • Example:
      (TOP VIEW) Folder A > Folder B > Folder C > Folder D
      All Groups Group 1    
      Group 2 Group 2  
      Group 3    
      Group 4 Group 4 Group 4
      • It is not possible to add Group 1 into Folder D, because Group 1 does not have privileges in Folder C.
      • It is possible to add Group 2 into Folder D, because Group 2 has privileges in Folder C.

      What are the 'Read' and 'Write' options?

      'Read' Privileges:

      • Groups that have the 'Read' Privilege can only view and download content.
      • 'Read' privilege is always the default for all groups.

      'Write' Privileges:

      Admins always have 'Write' Privileges to all folders!

      What is the 'all (account name) users' option?

      • The 'all (account name) users' means that all users from the account have access to the folder. This includes users with, but also without assigned groups.
      • The 'all (account name) users' is the default option in every folder.
        • You are able to delete this group by clicking the cross❌, next to the group name.
        • You are able to add this group by clicking ➕Add group.

      Tip:

      It is also possible to make a folder accessible for 'all (account name) users' AND give 'Write' privileges to one or multiple groups. This way everyone has access, but only the selected 'Write' privileged groups have the right to alter the content.


      What is the 'Overwrite subfolder privileges' option?

      • 'Overwrite subfolder privileges' means that all folders that are structured underneath the folder you are applying changes to, will receive the same privileges.
      • Overwriting subfolder privileges is an action that cannot be undone. For extra safety, by clicking the 'Overwrite subfolder privileges'-button, you will be prompted with a warning, asking if you are sure to overwrite the existing privileges of all subfolders.
      Showell