Fine tune what people in your organization can see on their Showell App by giving them group privileges. Then they can only see content relevant for them.
👍Advantages of using groups:
- Groups are used to fine tune what users in your organization can see in Showell App (and Showell Admin).
- Users: can only see content in Showell App, where they have the right group permissions.
- Users with restricted Admin rights: can only see content in Showell App and Showell Admin, where they have the right group permissions.
- Admins: Can see all the content in Showell App and Showell Admin.
- It is possible to sent out personalized notifications to a group
- Analytics can be organized according to group
- You can add unlimited users to any group
- Users can be part of unlimited amount of groups
- You can give the groups 'Read' or 'Write' privileges in selected folders, this means they can either only view OR alter the content of that folder.
- Groups are often representations of company's branches or accounts.
- A company has separate groups for their sales reps, service team and dealers
- A clothing company has separate groups for different clothing lines
- A global company has separate groups for different countries
💡Note: You have to be an Admin to manage groups and their privileges/permissions.
➡️This article will cover:
- How to give or remove group privileges from a folder
- What are the 'Read' and 'Write' options?
- What is the 'all (account name) users' option?
- What is the 'Overwrite subfolder privileges' option?
➡️For more information on how to manage groups:
How to give or remove group privileges from a folder
- Navigate to the folder you would like to apply the permission to
- go to the folder's ⚙️Settings
- On the right you will find the 'Privileges' section
- Click ➕Add group and choose the right group from the drop down menu
- To remove a group privilege: Simply click the ❌ next to the group name
Remember the folder hierarchy:
|(TOP VIEW) Folder A >||Folder B >||Folder C >||Folder D|
|All Groups||Group 1|
|Group 2||Group 2|
|Group 4||Group 4||Group 4|
- It is not possible to add Group 1 into Folder D, because Group 1 does not have privileges in Folder C.
- It is possible to add Group 2 into Folder D, because Group 2 has privileges in Folder C.
What are the 'Read' and 'Write' options?
- Groups that have the 'Read' Privilege can only view and download content.
- 'Read' privilege is always the default for all groups.
- Groups that have the 'Write' Privilege can view, download, upload, edit and remove content.
💡Note: Admins always have 'Write' Privileges to all folders!
What is the 'all (account name) users' option?
- The 'all (account name) users' means that all users from the account have access to the folder. This includes users with, but also without assigned groups.
- The 'all (account name) users' is the default option in every folder.
- You are able to delete this group by clicking the cross❌, next to the group name.
- You are able to add this group by clicking ➕Add group.
It is also possible to make a folder accessible for 'all (account name) users' AND give 'Write' privileges to one or multiple groups. This way everyone has access, but only the selected 'Write' privileged groups have the right to alter the content.
What is the 'Overwrite subfolder privileges' option?
- 'Overwrite subfolder privileges' means that all folders that are structured underneath the folder you are applying changes to, will receive the same privileges.
- Overwriting subfolder privileges is an action that cannot be undone. For extra safety, by clicking the 'Overwrite subfolder privileges'-button, you will be prompted with a warning, asking if you are sure to overwrite the existing privileges of all subfolders.