Share Content as its Original File Type
For the best user experience, Showell automatically converts your content when they're uploaded. You have the option to share these files as the converted or original file type.
Who is this for?
👤 Admins, and everyone in their own My Files
👁️🗨️ Available for all plans
In this article
How to enable original file sharing

- In the Showell App for Web, open Edit Mode and navigate to the file you want to share in its original file format
- Open the file's settings by clicking the Settings icon
- Toggle 'Share in original format' ON
- Click Save
Manage multiple files simultaneously
Select multiple files by ticking the checkbox next to each one to apply actions to all selected items at once, including setting the Share in original format option.
- Once the checkboxes are ticked, you'll see managing options at the bottom of your screen. Click the 3 dots, choose 'Modify Properties' and find 'Share format'
- You have the following options:
- Share in current format: This action will ensure that the files are shared in their converted file type. In most cases, this will be a PDF document. For more information: Supported Content & File Formats
- Share in original format: This will ensure all files are shared in their originally uploaded file format.
- Click 'Save'.
For more information: Manage your content
💡 FAQ
Why is my shared content converted?
By default, Showell converts and shares your content as a PDF to provide the best viewing experience and an extra layer of protection, making it harder for recipients to edit the shared file. For example, an uploaded Word document is automatically converted to PDF before sharing. To learn which file types are supported, see Supported Content & File Formats.